John Wilde was a good neighbor and fine friend to many in the Cooksville area, as well as in Evansville. Those who knew him no doubt saw a quiet, unassuming man with a gentle wit and an appreciation for all things natural and beautiful.
But those who may have known him better, those who knew his past accomplishments as a respected professor at UW-Madison and as an internationally known artist who was a part of the so-called “magic realist” movement in art circles, would understand why one of Wisconsin’s foremost museum galleries is now featuring many of his finest and least seen artwork.
From June 13 to September 6, the Museum of Wisconsin Art (MOWA) in West Bend is devoting considerable space and time to a special Wilde exhibit. “Wilde’s Wildes: A Very Private Collection” includes approximately 80 paintings and drawings, most of which had hung or had been stored in John and Shirley Wilde’s Cooksville area home.
The exhibit includes some of John’s early works as a student at UW-Madison and follows his personal art history to just a couple years before his death. Many of the sketches and paintings depict John himself, as well as Shirley. And, of course, there are framed pieces of their beloved Corgies – Banjo, Bugs, Beans and Bryn.
John died in 2006. Shirley, his wife of 46 years, died earlier this year. Since Shirley’s death, their respective children gathered most of the artwork that their parents retained in their home for themselves and provided the collection to the MOWA for this unique exhibit.
John and his first wife, Helen, lived in Evansville from the early 1950s to the midsixties. Helen died in 1966. John and Shirley married in 1969 and lived in their Cooksville area home until their deaths. John, Helen and Shirley are buried next to each other in the Cooksville Cemetery. Between them, they had five children. Both John and Shirley served on the Board of the Historic Cooksville Trust, Inc. until their deaths.
In the foreword to a 66-page full-color exhibit catalogue compiled and written by exhibit curator Graeme Reid, MOWA’s Executive Director/CEO, Laurie Winters writes:
“Wildes’s Wildes: A Very Private Collection celebrates the private collection of John Wilde (1919-2006), one of the leading artists of the American Surrealism movement. Over seven decades, Wilde created a collection of the own paintings and drawings, works that easily could have found homes in museums or private collections but that he retained instead for his own enjoyment. Wilde’s Wildes recreates the artist’s collection, which includes paintings and drawings from every decade and phase of his long career as well as some of his earliest works in the late 1930s.”
At the June 18 exhibit opening, curator Reid took attendees through the second floor gallery devoted to John’s works and explained how the exhibit was compiled and provided an anecdotal narrative to John’s life and work. Later, Reid made a formal expanded presentation for those gathered for the opening. Reid has been invited to repeat his Wilde slide presentation program at a venue in Evansville.
For more information on the Wilde exhibit at MOWA, visit the museum’s website at www.wisconsinart.org. The Wilde’s Wildes: A Very Private Collection catalogue is available for purchase from the MOWA Shop at a cost of $58 and can be ordered online, or it can be downloaded free of charge from MOWA’s website.
Six of John’s works are on permanent display at UW-Madison’s Chazen Museum, and his painting “15 Cooksvillians” (1996) has been donated to the Chasen. His large 1997 hand-colored print “15 Cooksvillians” hangs in many Cooksville area homes.
The Evansville Grove Society and The Theodore Robinson Society are
offering a special program on September 29th at Creekside Place in
Evansville to honor Evansville’s surrealist artist John Wilde, former
Art Professor at the University of WisconsinMadison. Graeme Reid,
Director of Collections and Exhibitions, Museum of Wisconsin Art, will
be the speaker. The program compliments a special exhibit entitled
Wilde’s Wildes that is ongoing until September 6th at the Museum of
Wisconsin Art, West Bend. The address for Creekside Place is 102
Maple Street, Evansville. The event will begin at 5:45 pm with an open
bar and informal reminiscences by friends, relatives, and associates of
John Wilde and his two wives. The program will begin about 6:30 pm.
Contact Jennifer Ehle, 608-302-1722, jenniferehle1@gmail.com for further
information.
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
John Wilde’s Art Featured at Museum of Wisconsin Art in West Bend, by Steve Ehle
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Cooksville Christmas in Summer Aug 1, 1:30 pm
From a recent Facebook post:
Would you welcome a chill in the air? Put yourself in a December state of mind on August 1st for the 3rd annual Cooksville Christmas in Summer pageant starting at 1:30 pm at the schoolhouse. The talented village children are hard at work on their all-new show, with a little help from the Wild Rumpus Circus of Mazomanie. Here's a hint of what you may see....
Would you welcome a chill in the air? Put yourself in a December state of mind on August 1st for the 3rd annual Cooksville Christmas in Summer pageant starting at 1:30 pm at the schoolhouse. The talented village children are hard at work on their all-new show, with a little help from the Wild Rumpus Circus of Mazomanie. Here's a hint of what you may see....
Monday, June 29, 2015
John Wilde’s Art Featured at Museum of Wisconsin Art in West Bend, by Steve Ehle
![]() |
Shirley and John Wilde shown in 2006 at the Cooksville Commons. (Photo by Steve Ehle) |
But those who may have known him
better, those who knew his past accomplishments as a respected professor at
UW-Madison and as an internationally known artist who was a part of the
so-called “magic realist” movement in art circles, would understand why one of
Wisconsin’s foremost museum galleries is now featuring many of his finest and
least seen artwork.
From June 13 to September 6, the
Museum of Wisconsin Art (MOWA) in West Bend is devoting considerable space and
time to a special Wilde exhibit. “Wilde’s
Wildes: A Very Private Collection”
includes approximately 80 paintings and drawings, most of which had hung or had
been stored in John and Shirley Wilde’s Cooksville area home.
![]() |
The cover of the catalog published for the "Wilde's Wildes" exhibit show available for viewing at the
Museum of Wisconsin Art.
|
John died in 2006. Shirley, his wife
of 46 years, died earlier this year. Since Shirley’s death, their respective
children gathered most of the artwork that their parents retained in their home
for themselves and provided the collection to the MOWA for this unique exhibit.
John and his first wife, Helen, lived
in Evansville from the early 1950s to the mid-sixties. Helen died in 1966. John
and Shirley married in 1969 and lived in their Cooksville area home until their
deaths. John, Helen and Shirley are buried next to each other in the Cooksville
Cemetery. Between them, they had five children. Both John and Shirley served on the Board of
the Historic Cooksville Trust, Inc. until their deaths.
In the foreword to a 66-page full-color exhibit
catalogue compiled and written by exhibit curator Graeme Reid, MOWA’s Executive
Director/CEO, Laurie Winters writes:
“Wildes’s
Wildes: A Very Private Collection celebrates the private collection of John
Wilde (1919-2006), one of the leading artists of the American Surrealism
movement. Over seven decades, Wilde created a collection of the own paintings
and drawings, works that easily could have found homes in museums or private
collections but that he retained instead for his own enjoyment. Wilde’s Wildes recreates the artist’s
collection, which includes paintings and drawings from every decade and phase
of his long career as well as some of his earliest works in the late 1930s.”
At the June 18 exhibit opening, curator
Reid took attendees through the second floor gallery devoted to John’s works
and explained how the exhibit was compiled and provided an anecdotal narrative
to John’s life and work. Later, Reid made a formal expanded presentation for
those gathered for the opening. Reid has been invited to repeat his Wilde slide
presentation program at a venue in Evansville. An announcement will be made
later this summer regarding time and place for this event.
For more information on the Wilde
exhibit at MOWA, visit the museum’s website at www.wisconsinart.org. The Wilde’s Wildes: A Very Private Collection
catalogue is available for purchase from the MOWA Shop at a cost of $58 and can
be ordered online, or it can be downloaded free of charge from MOWA’s website.
![]() |
A John Wilde painting of Steve Ehle and his dog Davey painted in 2004.
|
Monday, June 15, 2015
Cooksville’s Artists and Artisans, Part Two: Leila Dow, by Larry Reed
The Village of Cooksville had a reputation for being a
“cultured little burg” in the 19th century and on into the 20th. Although the village’s popular “Opera House”
(the second floor of Van Patten’s Meat Market) burned down in 1893, other
venues for local and traveling performers remained. The Lyceum Auditorium, used
mainly as a private schoolroom for higher learning on the second floor of the
Van Vleck Farm Implement Factor, was available for various entertainments. So were
the Schoolhouse, the Masonic Lodge’s meeting room above the General Store, and
the basement parlor room of the 1879 Cooksville Congregational Church.
Some of Cooksville’s artisans were material artists, creating
pottery, paintings and weavings. Several wrote poetry and short stories, and some
were talented musicians performing in homes and churches in the village and in
nearby communities.
One of Cooksville’s talented early painters was Leila Aileen
Dow (1864-1930).
![]() |
Leila Dow (1864-1930), date unknown |
![]() |
Dow Farm west of Cooksville, c.1873 |
Leila was one of the daughters of
the prominent farmer John Thayer Dow (1831-1917), who lived in the historic
Lovejoy-Dow House just west of the village and whose Dow’s Grove was a popular
picnic area on the south side of the Badfish Creek. Dow farmed there from 1854
to 1882, and his diaries are detailed evidence of the daily activities of his
family. (Another one of the talented Dow
![]() |
Myrtle Helene Dow, c.1895 |
Leila Dow graduated from Madison’s Central High School and studied
art at the University of Wisconsin in Madison and at the Art Institute of
Chicago. She taught art (china painting
and oil painting) in Evansville and Madison schools, as well as in her studio
in Madison, where she lived most of her life. In1894, she won art prizes at the
Dane County Fair, and she was a busy “Teacher of drawing and painting,” according
to her business card.
She spent many summers at Susan Porter’s home in Cooksville,
where she painted landscapes and garden flowers in and around the village in
the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Many of her works were inspired
by the gardens of Ralph Lorenzo Warner (1875-1941) and Miss Porter (1859-1939),
who was her life-long friend. One of her
paintings is of the Cooksville Mill and Dam on the Badfish Creek.
![]() |
“Cooksville Mill,” by Leila Dow
|
“Squash Blossoms” by Leila Dow |
“Peonies” by Leila Dow |
“Landscape” by Leila Dow |
Leila painted in a quick, impressionistic style with bright
colors and loose brush strokes in oil or in her flowing watercolors, capturing
an immediate impression of delicate light and color emanating from her natural
subjects. Several of her works, water
colors and oil paintings—landscapes and flowers— remain in Cooksville;
undoubtedly, others are in the Madison area. It is possible that Leila may have
known one of America’s most important Impressionist painters, Theodore Robinson
(1852-1896), a native of nearby Evansville, Wisconsin, who spent much of his
short life with the famous French Impressionist painters in France. (One of Robinson’s
paintings was recently offered at auction in New York City for
$700,000-$900,000.)
Importantly, Leila was one of the original organizers and
charter members of the Madison Art Guild, which was begun about 1914. Her obituary said she was an “artist, club
leader”… with a “ready wit.” After Leila
died in Madison, many of her art works were sold to benefit the Art Guild. Her
paintings remain as evidence of her artistic talents.
[The second in a
series of stories about the artists and artisans of the Village of Cooksville.]
Saturday, May 30, 2015
Cooksville’s Artists, Artisans, and Craftsmen: 1846 – 2015, Part One, by Larry Reed
![]() |
Dorothy Kramer’s painting of Cooksville, 1955 |
Since its beginning, the little Village of Cooksville has
been the home to a number of talented local artists and crafts men and women,
more than its small size would seem to indicate. During the past 175 years, musicians,
painters, singers, potters, weavers, writers, designers, architects and performers
flourished and enjoyed practicing their arts in the small community.
Nearby towns occasionally teased Cooksville for being such a
culturally active little village—and maybe for being a bit self-satisfied— with
its lending library, a young folk’s reading club, a dancing class, a drama club
that toured its productions around the area, and an eagerness to sing, act,
fiddle and generally entertain one and all. The Evansville newspaper praised
the village, “that little cross road burg—Cooksville, where they don’t do
things by the halves.”
Certainly, it required many talents to live, survive and
thrive in the wilds of the Wisconsin frontier in the 1840s and later. And just
as certain, creative talents were essential to make pioneer life enjoyable and
fulfilling for individuals and the whole community. This no doubt was a
challenge because the talents had to be home-grown (or brought from the East) with
very few, if any, existing cultural experiences, opportunities or teachers of
the arts.
As Senator Daniel Webster apparently said (maybe to his
Massachusetts friend Dr. John Porter, a founder of Cooksville): “Where tillage
begins, other arts follow.”
Out of the mists of history—and from crumbling newspaper
clippings, remembered stories and anecdotes, and from various works of art —
has come knowledge of these creative efforts of Cooksville’s artisans, enough
to acknowledge their contributions over the years.
![]() |
Cooksville Dramatic Club broadsheet, 1873 |
Musical, oratorical
and dramatic performances showed off their talents and were frequent in the 19th
century (without radio, movies, television and few traveling entertainers).
Some products of their creative skills—paintings, pottery, weavings, writings—
survive, fortunately, and have been handed down to the community via their
families over the past two centuries.
Most of these creative Cooksville artists were self-taught
amateurs, although some learned their skills later in the 19th
century with the help of talented teachers in nearby schools of higher learning
or at the feet of other artists who arrived in the area. These talented
Cooksvillians were noted in newspaper articles and diaries of the time, and undoubtedly
there were other additional skillful, self-taught creative persons whose works
may yet be discovered and appreciated.
Past village artists include such Cooksvillians as Ann Eliza
Bacon Porter, perhaps the earliest, and Benjamin Hoxie, Leila Dow, Ralph
Lorenzo Warner, Jack Robertson, Helen Porter, Dorothy and Arthur Kramer, E.
Marvin Raney, Chester P. Holway, Michael Saternus and John Wilde.
![]() |
Eliza Porter with daughter Helen, c.1848 |
Ann Eliza Bacon
Porter
One of the earliest local artists was Ann Eliza Bacon Porter
(she preferred to use “Eliza”). She arrived in Cooksville in 1847, following
her newly-wedded husband, Joseph, who had platted the Village of Waucoma in
1846 (next to Cooksville) and was managing the Porter lands for his uncle Dr.
John Porter who remained in Massachusetts.
Eliza’s precious piano, shipped from the East, arrived shortly
after she did. She is credited with bringing music and dramatic oratory to the
frontier village, among other accomplishments. She played the piano for the
many guests she entertained in her home on the farm east of Cooksville and sang
solos and with local groups with great frequency. Eliza’s piano was a great luxury
on the frontier, of course, although soon a small portable melodeon
(foot-powered organ) owned by Thomas Morgan served for church music at services
in the village’s schoolhouse and elsewhere.
Eliza sang often. She sang at the close of the Town of
Porter’s Civil War gathering in 1861 where the town formally resolved to defend
the Union; she sang two patriotic songs on July 4, 1876, when Cooksville’s Centennial
100-foot flag pole was erected on the Public Square; and she seems to have sung
at the drop of her bonnet not only in Cooksville but in many area communities and
for many occasions, usually solo but also in choirs.
She was also a popular orator, reader and interpreter of
literature and poetry, acting out all the parts. She also read religious works from
the church pulpit, and she appears to have been an eager and much sought-after
performance artist, referred to as an “elocutionist.” She also was a prolific
writer of poems, reciting them in public, some of which have survived.
Eliza is credited with being the “moving spirit” behind a
number of local musical productions, including the operettas “Pinafore” and
“Laila.” She also gave piano lessons, not only to her children (her daughter
Helen went on to become a professional piano teacher) but to other village
children, who sometimes paid for their lessons with summer jobs on the Porter
farm.
![]() |
Eliza and Joseph Porter’s farmhouse, 1867
|
Mrs. Porter also was a tireless promoter of women’s rights.
In 1880, according to a local newspaper, “Mrs. E.B. Porter, ever ready to say
or do in word and work to promote and advance the cause of woman….presented (at
a public Temperance meeting at the Church) a very forcible paper on ‘How can
Woman best promote Temperance Work.’” Eliza also sat next to her husband in
church services when she first joined him in Cooksville, which apparently
dismayed some people.
Eliza was a tireless leader, supporter and participant in
the community’s many cultural, social and political activities from her arrival
in 1847 until her death in 1890. And she no doubt inspired many others to
pursue, practice and enjoy the arts in Cooksville.
Stories of Ann Eliza Bacon Porter’s life in Cooksville, taken
from her diary, can be found in the book, Choice
Seeds in the Wilderness, by Lillian Russell Porter published in 1964, and can
also be found in materials and photographs in the Cooksville Archives
[The first in a series of stories about Cooksville’s past artists and
artisans.}
Labels:
buildings,
Cooksville School,
drawings,
history
Sunday, May 10, 2015
A Bridge Never Used: The Caledonia Springs Railroad Bridge Near Cooksville, by Larry Reed
![]() |
Caledonia Springs Railroad Bridge, painting by Dorothy Kramer c.1950 |
As is well-known, the railroad never came to the historic Village
of Cooksville. The “town that time forgot” was forgotten because a railway
builder’s plans went bust.
This all happened—or, actually, didn’t happen— back in about
1857.
But there is a remnant near Cooksville dating from the 1850s
when a railroad company did plan to come through the village: a small stone
railroad bridge. But plans went astray.
![]() |
Caledonia Springs Railroad Bridge 1948, with Marvin Raney |
The remnant (an archeological ruin, really) is the
“Caledonia Springs Railroad Bridge” hidden in the wild, over-grown woods near
dozens of equally hidden, bubbling “Caledonia Springs.” The old stone bridge,
or culvert, arching over a small creek was constructed about 160 years ago as
part of the plans to lay tracks through Cooksville on the way to Madison from
Janesville.
On a recent spring day, a successful excursion led by the
Makoutz family—Josh and Jill and their three young children, Ruby, Dylan and
one-and-a-half-year-old Sawyer, carried by Dad—with pathfinder Josh in the lead
hiked next to cornfields and through woods, brambles, and years of overgrowth to
view the old stone bridge and the quiet burbling springs.
![]() |
The bridge with Jill, Dylan, Josh and Sawyer, today |
The Makoutz family lives near Cooksville on Caledonia Road
in the handsome historic McCarthy stone house. When not guiding someone to the
ruined stone bridge, Jill and Josh operate Bradbury’s, a highly-praised coffee house
in Madison that specializes in delicious crepes, located at 127 N. Hamilton
St., just off the Capitol Square.
Jill and Josh kindly offered to lead the way to this hidden
historic site and natural springs south of Caledonia Road in the Town of
Porter, not far from Cooksville. They’d hiked into the ravines several times
before.
![]() |
Town of Porter 1858 map with the proposed railroad |
Not many details are known about the history of the small Caledonia
Springs railroad bridge. Who hauled those huge stones there? And who laid them
up like an ancient Roman archway, and why didn’t the planned railway ever cross
it?
Many railroad companies had quickly formed in southern
Wisconsin in the mid-19th century (and some had quickly failed), and
this new transportation technology was heavily invested in by local landowners
and others. Successful railroad lines brought progress and profits, of course,
and multiple train routes were planned to connect Milwaukee and Chicago with points
north and west.
The company that planned to diagonally cross the Town of
Porter was the Chicago, St. Paul and Fond du Lac Railroad, coming northwestward
from Janesville, which it had reached in 1855.
Preliminary plans and surveys were conducted to continue the
route from Janesville through the Town of Porter crossing the Caledonia Springs
area, then traveling through Joseph K. P. Porter’s farm just east of Cooksville
(or “Waucoma” as it was then known) and crossing the Badfish Creek at that
point.
Had that route been laid with railroad tracks, Cooksville (and
Waucoma) would no doubt have grown and expanded eastward toward the tracks and the
small village would have grown. And it might not be what it is today: a
historic “wee bit of New England in Wisconsin.”
But the train did not arrive. Instead, the financial Panic
of 1857 happened. A general national economic downturn bankrupted many of the
ambitious and under-funded railroad companies and many plans were abandoned. In
1859, when the economy recovered, the newly-formed railroad company changed its
plans to reach Madison. Instead it built tracks from Janesville northward to
Minnesota Junction near Fond du Lac, joining lines from Milwaukee that headed
toward Minnesota. And eventually, of course, other railroads were built through
nearby Stoughton and Evansville.
![]() |
The bridge over Caledonia Springs today |
The
little arched Caledonia Springs Railroad Bridge built to serve as a culvert over
the creek never supported any railroad tracks. But much of it still stands
hidden away arching over a ravine, some of it collapsed into the creek formed by
the many local springs whose waters flow northward to the Badfish Creek and then
three rivers later into the Gulf of Mexico.
It’s a bit of a hike from Caledonia Road to the bridge site but
worth the effort, especially if iced tea and wild black raspberry scones await
the hikers at Jill and Josh’s handsome stone house after a traipse through the nearby
woods and fields on a sunny spring day.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)